Reflection On Love and Faith


While reading love and relationship quotes over the internet, I observed there are too many self-centered advises and ideas – the reason why there are plenty of quick commitments and break-ups.

I do not say I know love and relationships well enough, but somehow, I do know what’s right and what’s wrong and I think that would be enough foundation to build my own principle on this stuff, at least for now.

I learned that…

You can’t tell someone you love them if you haven’t seen and accepted the unlovable side of their being; and I must tell you, each one of us has this unlovable side, no one is exempted.

You can’t tell someone you love them until you completely forgive them from the hurtful thing they did to you, and until you’re willing to get hurt over and over again. The truth is, everyone’s going to hurt you just as you keep hurting anyone. But true love can see past through the pain.

You can’t tell someone you love them until you’ve been far away from them – gone to different places and meet different people. But wherever you go and whoever you are with, you still think about them, hoping they’re doing well with their lives.

True enough, love is a complex thing. We won’t be capable of sharing it to anyone if we do not have enough love in ourselves. Sometimes, we can get it from our family, from our friends, from the people around us who know us and accept us just as we are; or simply from God’s influence in our lives.

If we can’t find loving people around us, we can always look up to find an overwhelming quantity of love above. All we need is faith and time to read God’s words. And when we are overfilled with love, it cannot help but overflow.

So, to everyone out there who think they’re in love…

I believe true loving is being happy for the happiness of the one you love, being sad of their sadness, celebrating their success, helping them on their struggles and praying for their welfare unceasingly despite any difficulties.

It is giving without expecting anything in return. It is loving unconditionally just as Christ has loved us.

1 Corinthians 13:4-7
New International Version (NIV)
4 Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. 5 It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. 6 Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. 7 It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.

And these three remains: Faith, hope, love. But the greatest of these is love.

10 thoughts on “Reflection On Love and Faith

  1. Indeed! There are really times that people tend to vent out self centered rantings without really digging deep into what virtue would remain in the end times. And I agree, LOVE should be unconditional and without expectation 🙂

    Like

  2. “You can’t tell someone you love them if you haven’t seen and accepted the unlovable side of their being; and I must tell you, each one of us has this unlovable side, no one is exempted.”

    I love this line! Well said.

    Like

  3. After being together for 15 years and married for 10 years, I realized that without LOVE I am not sure if hubby and I will still be together. It is what binds us. After all the terrible things that we went through together (no third party – thank you, Lord!), I am thankful that we chose to stay together when it could have been easier to go our separate ways. Problems will come and go but if you really want to stay together, you should keep the flame alive, in spite and despite of.

    Like

  4. Agree gyud! I remember the saying nga don’t fall in love with the idea of being in love. Actually I was guilty back then when all I wanted was to know how it feels to be in love but I realize mura siya’g nag cheat sa love and I just made myself think I was in love but really I wasn’t. Love should indeed be unconditional!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Ahuh. Agree. Most of the time, people rush into falling in love but it’s really more than that. It’s a choice, it’s not just a feeling or emotion, it’s totally a hard work. And if you’re willing to work on it, hard, then you can say you’re ready to take risks (hopefully). 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

