Reflection on Life and Death


Life

The only certain thing in life is that it has no certainty. We woke up every morning not knowing what lies ahead. We live each day to work for our hopes, our dreams and our happiness and end it either feeling fulfilled, hopeful or hopeless.

When we went to visit our grandpa in the cemetery last Sunday, we almost hit a child on the road. For a moment I wasn’t able to react while everyone around me was angry of the child’s carelessness. I was petrified because I remembered that once, twice, thrice or a couple of times in my life, I was also almost hit by a car because of my carelessness. Honestly, it scares me to think of death.

But anything can happen anytime – I always tell myself to ease my fear. We have no hold of our lives. God gave it to us and only Him can take it from us anytime He wants. Taking away our own lives before God’s time is actually stealing from our Divine Creator, don’t you think? Maybe that is why it’s called a sin.

So there we gathered around my grandpa’s tomb, and as they recalled a bit of his memory, I was fascinated of how life works on earth. When we die nothing else will be remembered of what we did except for those that gave meaning to someone else’s life and touched them so much that they store it carefully in their memory.

Thus I realized that life’s greatest treasure lies not in honor, wealth, power and other material possessions but in the beautiful and meaningful relationships we built with people. It’s called “Pakikipag-kapwa” in Filipino. And the best relationships are built in kindness, respect and sympathy.

It’s easy to be fascinated with what the world has to offer. But at the end of the day, you will realize that those things are not what truly matter.

3 thoughts on “Reflection on Life and Death

  1. Just as much as we are realizing life right now, at this very moment, death when it comes is very real. Am glad you believe life is a gift from God and that our lives are in His hands. I would then strongly encourage you to explore what more He has to say about this life, its purpose and whatever else there is to it. He reveals Himself in the Bible, a book that is a miracle in itself: a compilation of 66 books by about 40 writers written in a span of 2000+ yrs; with information that support and build on each other, etc. It’s a supernatural book whose real author is the Holy Spirit. Anyways, open its pages, praying to the True Author to “open the eyes of your understanding to behold wonderful things out of His law (another word for scripture).” You will need the Holy Spirit’s help to understand spiritual matters, especially pertaining to the Bible. So go for it – it’s not going to be a waste of time. It may, in fact, turn out to be the biggest investment in life. I cannot overstate the matter.

    Like

  2. Greetings, I think your website could possibly be
    having browser compatibility issues. Whenever I look at your blog in Safari, it looks fine but when opening
    in I.E., it has some overlapping issues. I simply wanted to give you
    a quick heads up! Besides that, fantastic site!

    Like

Leave a Reply

